Spam! From: ecardsforfun.net
I received the following e-mail today:
backers digested louse chubby resound
Dear recipient,
Anna L. has sent you a postcard from Cards For Fun.
Your card will be held for 7days.
You may pick up your postcard from the postbox located here
adherers knell refusing privacies numismatic
*************************************
Alternatively you can pick up the postcard by clicking on the link below:
Your ticket number is: 4200132146033862
assimilate rarely Giddings relievers confrontdolphins ingrate objection tacked Hayes
***********************************
Send A Card To Your Friend with Cards For Fun!
My first clue that this was spam was that it says “Anna L” sent it to me, even though I don't know anyone with that name. I also did not recognize the name of the company that the e-mail links to. (I have received other e-cards where the e-mail address of the person sending it was clearly visible in the text of the e-mail, and I recognize it instantly, and the e-card linked to a company website whose name I recognized.)
My second clue was the line “assimilate rarely Giddings relievers confrontdolphins ingrate objection tacked Hayes” and the line “adherers knell refusing privacies numismatic” and “backers digested louse chubby resound”. I don’t know why spam includes ridiculous phrases like this, but no legitimate e-mail should. By the way, these lines are written in the e-mail in text colored so lightly against the white background that you might not even see them, but they did show up on my screen, and of course they showed up when I copied and pasted them into this post.
Finally, I held my mouse cursor over the links in the e-mail to see what the e-mail links pointed to (you can do that if you use Thunderbird for e-mail, go get yourself a copy). They pointed me to ecardsforfun.net/something/something.htm. Rather than click on the link, I typed the ecardsforfun.net and got to their main page. Even at the main page, I was prompted to download a .exe file, which I refused to do. I suspect that had I clicked on the link, the website would have asked me to download the same file.
I have no idea what malicious code is contained in the .exe file they wanted me to download. But I do have a word to describe the people who sent this to me: “bastards”!



Hilary Duff has gone on a diet. And although the results aren’t as shocking as Oprah Winfrey’s diet, Hilary does indeed
Well, it’s about time, Hil! We really want to know what you think of those 









